Polity – Speaker of the Lok Sabha- Sumitra Mahajan

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Speaker of the Lok Sabha -Sumitra Mahajan

1-The current speaker of Lok Sabha is Sumitra Mahajan of the Bharatiya Janata Party.

2-She is presiding over the 16th Lok Sabha. She is the second woman to hold the office, after her immediate predecessor Meira Kumar.

3-The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is the presiding officer of the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Parliament of India.

4-The Speaker of the Lok Sabha conducts the business in house.

5- The Speaker decides whether a bill is a money bill or not.

6-The Speaker maintains discipline and decorum in the house and can punish a member for their unruly behaviour by suspending them. 

7- The Speaker permits the moving of various kinds of motions and resolutions like the motion of no confidence, motion of adjournment, motion of censure and calling attention notice as per the rules.

8-The speaker also presides over the joint sitting of both Houses of Parliament. 

9- The counterpart of the Lok Sabha Speaker in the Rajya Sabha is the Chairman, who is the Vice President of India. 

10- The speaker of Lok Sabha comes next only to The Deputy Prime Minister of India in the warrant of precedence.

11- The Speaker has the sixth rank in the political executive of India.

12- As per Articles 94 and 96, Speaker can be removed by the Lok Sabha by a resolution passed by a majority of all the members of the House.

13-Under sections 7 & 8 of Representation of the People Act, 1951. The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is also removed on getting disqualified for being Lok Sabha member.

14-A list of senior Lok Sabha members prepared by the Legislative Section is submitted to the Minister of Parliamentary Affairs, after a general election and the formation of a new government.

15-The Minister of Parliamentary Affairs selects a protem speaker. The appointment has to be approved by the president. 

16- In absence of the Speaker, the Deputy Speaker acts as Speaker. In the absence of both, a committee of six member selected by the Speaker will act as Speaker according to their seniority.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 74 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment