General Awareness -NITI Aayog

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

General Awareness

NITI Aayog 


1-NITI Aayog – National Institution for Transforming India is a Government of India policy think-tank established by the Narendra Modi government to replace the Planning Commission.

2-The aim for NITI Aayog’s creation is to foster involvement in the economic policy-making process by the State Governments of India.

3-The Union Government of India announced the formation of NITI Aayog on 1 January 2015.

4-The first meeting of NITI Aayog was held on 8 February 2015.

5-The Prime Minister serves as the Ex-officio chairman of NITI Aayog.

6-The governing council of NITI Aayog consists of all state Chief Ministers,Lieutenant Governers of union territories,and vice chairman nominated by the Prime Minister.

7- The Union Cabinet scrapped the Planning Commission on August 13, 2014 to be replaced with a diluted version of the National Advisory Council (NAC) of India.

8- A Cabinet resolution was passed on January 1, 2015 to replace the Planning Commission with the newly formed NITI Aayog (National Institution for Transforming India).

9-The first meeting of NITI Aayog was chaired by PM Narendra Modi on February 8, 2015.

10-Prime Minister Narendra Modi is the Chairperson of NITI Aayog and the committee consists of

Vice Chairperson: Arvind Panagariya

Ex-Officio Members: Union Ministers Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley, Suresh Prabhu and Radha Mohan Singh

Special Invitees: Nitin Gadkari, Smriti Zubin Irani and Thawar Chand Gehlot.

Full-time Members: Economist Bibek Debroy, former DRDO Chief V. K. Saraswat and Agriculture Expert Ramesh Chand.

Chief Executive Officer:Amitabh Kant

Governing Council: All Chief Ministers and Lieutenant Governors of States and Union Territories

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 65 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment