Geography -Important One Liners For Exams

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


1- How many types of rocks are there – 3 (Igneous, Sedimentary, Metamorphic)

2-The point of origin of earthquake is called Seismic focus

3-The earth is divided into 24 longitudinal zones, each being 15° or 1 hour apart in time (4 minutes/degree).

4-Lunar Eclipse occurs – When earth comes between sun and moon

5-The point on the earth’s surface vertically above the earth’s surface is called Epicentre.

6-The passage of earthquake waves is recorded by Seismograph.


7-The distance between any two parallels of latitude is always equal.

8-How many latitudes are there – total 181 latitudes including the equator.

9- Earth’s average orbital velocity – 29.79 Kilometers/s.

10-The shortest day in South Hemisphere is – June 2

Note: Days and nights are almost equal at the equator.

11-The longest day in South Hemisphere is – 22 Dec

12- The shortest day in North Hemisphere is – 22 Dec

13- The longest day in North Hemisphere is – June 21

14- Aphelion : Farthest position of earth from sun.

Note: The earth reaches its aphelion on July 4, when the earth isat a distance of 152 million Kilometers.

15- Earth Perihelion: Nearest position of earth to sun.

Note: The earth reaches its perihelion on January3 every year at a distance of about 147 million Kilometers.

16-Earth Spins on its imaginary axis from west to east in 23 hrs, 56 min and 40.91 sec

17-The equator represents in 0° latitude

18-The North Pole represent in – 90° N and the South Pole 90° S.

Note: 23½° N represents – Tropic of Cancer, while 23½° S represents Tropic of Capricorn. 70. 66½° N represents – Arctic Circle while 66½° S

represents – Antarctic Circle.

19- Earth takes time, revolution around the sun is – 365 days, 5 hrs, 48 min and 45.51 sec.

20-The seven continents of the World – (i) Asia (ii) Africa (iii) North America (iv) South America (v) Europe (vi) Australia & (vii) Antarctica

These seven continents were believed to be part of Pangaea which was a single landmass around 250 million years ago.

21-The three Gulfs in the Indian Territory – Gulf of Kuchch (west of Gujarat), Gulf of Cambay or Gulf of Khambat (Gujarat) and Gulf of Mannar (south east of Tamil Nadu)

(Visited 78 times, 1 visits today)
Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: