GK/General Awareness/G-Studies -Air Force – India

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

Air Force – India


1- It is the world’s fourth largest air force in terms of both personnel and aircraft.

2- It was officially established on 8 October 1932 as an auxiliary air force of the British Empire.

3-After India became independent from the United Kingdom in 1947, the Royal Indian Air Force served the Dominion of India

4- The major operations undertaken by the IAF include Operation Vijay, Operation Meghdoot, Operation Cactus and Operation Poomalai.

5-The President of India serves as Supreme Commander of the IAF.

6-The IAF’s mission is defined by the Armed Forces Act of 1947, Constitution of India.

7-On 1 April 1933, the IAF commissioned its first squadron, No.1 Squadron, with four Westland Wapiti biplanes and five Indian pilots.

8- Pakistan launched Operation Gibraltar, strategy of Pakistan to infiltrate Jammu and Kashmir.

9-In 1984, India launched Operation Meghdoot to capture the Siachen Glacier in the contested Kashmir region.

10-In 1987, the IAF supported the Indian Peace Keeping Force (IPKF) in northern and eastern Sri Lanka in Operation Pawan.

11-On 27 May, the Indian Air Force suffered its first fatality when it lost a MiG-21 and a MiG-27 in quick succession.

12-On 13 July 2014, two MiG-21s were sent from Jodhpur Air Base to investigate a Turkish Airlines plane over Jaisalmer.

13-The Chief of the Air Staff with the rank of Air Chief Marshal is the Commander of the Indian Air Force.

14-In January 2002, the government conferred the rank of Marshal of the Air Force on Arjan Singh making him the first and only Five-star officer with the Indian Air Force and ceremonial chief of the air force.

15-In July 2016, the Indian Air Force had an authorised strength of 12,244 officers and 138,596 enlisted personnel.

16-The head of the Indian Air Force is the Chief of the Air Staff, who holds the rank of Air Chief Marshal.

17-Sachin Tendulkar was the first sportsperson and the first civilian without an aviation background to be awarded the honorary rank of Group Captain by the Indian Air Force.

Training establishments of the IAF are-

1-Air Force Academy, Dundigul (located in Hyderabad)

2-Air Force Administrative College at Coimbatore

3-School of Aviation Medicine at Bangalore

4-The Pilot Training Establishment at Allahabad

5- Air Force Technical College, Bangalore at Jalahalli

6- Tactics and Air Combat and Defence Establishment at Gwalior

7-Paratrooper’s Training School at Agra

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 23 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment