Polity- Law Commission of India

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


Polity- Law Commission of India

  • Law Commission of India is an executive body established by an order of the Government of India.
  • Its membership primarily comprises legal experts, who are entrusted a mandate by the Government.
  • It shall also undertake studies and research for bringing reforms in the justice delivery systems for elimination of delay in procedures, speedy disposal of
    cases, reduction in the cost of litigation etc.
  • 21st Law Commission of India was constituted for a period of three years w.e.f. 1st September. 2015 to 31st August 2018. Former Supreme Court (SC)
    judge Justice Balbir Singh Chauhan was appointed as Chairman of the 21st Law Commission of India (LCI).
  • The first Law Commission was established during the British Raj era in 1834 by the Charter Act of 1833.
  • The first Law Commission of independent India was established in 1955 for a three-year term.
  • The Commission is established for a fixed tenure and works as an advisory body to the Ministry of Law and Justice.


Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 35 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment