GK/General Awareness/G-Studies,

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

University Grants Commission (India)

The University Grants Commission (UGC) of India is a statutory body set up by the Indian Union government in 1956, and is charged with coordination, determination and maintenance of standards of higher education.

It provides recognition to universities in India, and disburses funds to such recognised universities and colleges.

Prof. Ved Prakash is the incumbent Chairman of UGC, India.

 Its headquarters is in New Delhi, and six regional centres in Pune, Bhopal, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Guwahati and Bangalore.

UGC was formed in 1946 to oversee the work of the three Central Universities of Aligarh, Banaras and, Delhi.

After independence, the University Education Commission was set up in 1948 under the Chairmanship of S. Radhakrishnan

UGC was formally inaugurated by Maulana Abul Kalam Azad, the Minister of Education, Natural Resources and Scientific Research on 28 December 1953.

The UGC was  formally established in November 1956, by an Act of Parliament as a statutory body of the Government of India.

The head office of the UGC is located at Bahadur Shah Zafar Marg in New Delhi.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 17 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment