History – Satavahana dynasty -Continued

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

History –

Satavahana dynasty -Continued


1-The various Puranas state that the first king of the Satavahana dynasty ruled for 23 years, and mention his name variously as Sishuka, Sindhuka, Chhismaka, Shipraka etc.

2-Based on theories, the beginning of the Satavahana rule is dated variously from 271 BCE to 30 BCE.

3-The Matsya Purana mentions that the Andhra dynasty ruled for around 450 years.

4-The Indica of Megasthenes (350 – 290 BCE) mentions a powerful tribe named “Andarae”, whose king maintained an army of 100,000 infantry, 2,000 cavalry and 1,000 elephants.

5-Simuka was succeeded by his brother Kanha (also known as Krishna), who extended the kingdom up to Nashik in the west

6-The Hathigumpha inscription of the Kalinga king Kharavela mentions a king named “Satakani” or “Satakamini”, who some identify with Satakarni I.

7-Satakarni’s successor Satakarni II ruled for 56 years.

8- He was succeeded by Lambodara.

9-The next well-known ruler of the dynasty was Hala, who composed Gaha Sattasai in Maharashtri Prakrit.

10-The Satavahana power was revived by Gautamiputra Satakarni, who is considered the greatest of the Satavahana rulers.

11-The Nashik prashasti inscription of Gautamiputra’s mother Gautami Balashri, dated to the 20th year after his death, records his achievements.

12-Gautamiputra was succeeded by his son Vasisthiputra Sri Pulamavi (or Pulumayi).

13-Pulumavi features in a large number of Satavahana inscriptions and his coins have been found distributed over a wide area.

14-Pulumavi’s successor was his brother Vashishtiputra Satakarni.

15-He entered into a marriage alliance with the Western Satraps, marrying the daughter of Rudradaman I.

16-Sri Yajna Sātakarni, the last person belonging to the main Satavahana dynastic line, briefly revived the Satavahana rule.

17- Pulumavi IV, the last king of the main line.During his reign, several Buddhist monuments were constructed at Nagarjunakonda and Amaravati.

18-After the death of Pulumavi IV, the Satavahana empire fragmented into five smaller kingdoms

19-The Satavahana territory included northern Deccan region, spanning the present-day Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra and Telangana states

20-The Nashik inscription describes Gautamiputra as the lord of Benakataka, suggest that this was the name of his capital.

21- The Matsya Purana states that 30 Andhra kings ruled for 460 years, but some of its manuscripts name only 19 kings.

22-The Vayu Purana also mentions that there were 30 Andhra kings, but its various manuscripts name only 17, 18, and 19 kings respectively.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 193 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment