Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


1-Vaikunta Perumal Temple was built by Pallava King Nandivarman-II in the 8th century, he was a worshipper of Lord Vishnu.

2-Bharavi, a 6th century Sanskrit poet , was the author of Kiratarjuniya (“Arjuna and the Mountain Man”).

3-The Pallava King Mahendravarman I got defeated by the Chalukya King Pulakesin II. Though, Narasimhavarman I (the son of Mahendravarman I) took the revenge of his father from Pulakesin II by defeating and killing him in the Battle of Vatapi in 642 AD and captured the Chalukyan capital, Vatapi. Thus, he assumed the title of ‘Vatapikonda’ (Conqueror of Vatapi).

4-The 13th-century famous Konark Sun temple was built by King Narshimhadeva I (of the Eastern Ganga dynasty) at Konark, Odisha around AD1250.

5-Dashkumarcharitam was composed by Dandin, who was a Sanskrit author of prose romances and expounder on poetics in the 6th-7th century. Both Bharavi and Dandin, the authors of Kiratarjuniyam and Dasakumarcharitam respectively, lived in the Pallava court.

6-The book, Dashkumarcharitam is a prose romance in Sanskrit that describes the adventures of ten young men, the Kumaras, all of whom are either princes or sons of royal ministers, as narrated by the men themselves.

7-Pulakesin I, the chalukya king, performed Ashwamedha Yajna (horse sacrifice ceremony) to access power.

8-The versatile Pallava ruler and great scholar Mahendravarman I wrote the famous burlesque Mattavilasa Prahasana (the Sport of Drunkards). It is a short one-act Sanskrit play.

9-The Kadamba dynasty was founded by Mayurasharma in 345 AD. It was an ancient royal dynasty of Karnataka that ruled northern Karnataka and the Konkan from their capital Banavasi ( at present that place is a Uttara Kannada district).

10-Konkanivarman was the founder of Ganga dynasty. He was known as Dharmamahadhiraja.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 94 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment