Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
Wimbledon Championships

The Wimbledon Championships is an annual British tennis tournament created in 1877 and played on outdoor grass courts at the All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club (AELTC) in the Wimbledon suburb of London, United Kingdom.

 The Gentlemen’s Singles was the first event contested in 1877

Wimbledon Champions

Year     Men’s Champion                                 Women’s Champion

1877 Spencer Gore

1878 Frank Hadow

1879 John Hartley

1880 John Hartley

1881 William Renshaw

1882 William Renshaw

1883 William Renshaw

1884 William Renshaw                                  Maud Watson

1885 William Renshaw                                  Maud Watson

1886 William Renshaw                           Blanche Bingley Hillyard

1887 Herbert Lawford                                  Lottie Dod

1888 Ernest Renshaw                                  Lottie Dod

1889 William Renshaw                            Blanche Bingley Hillyard

1890 Willoughby Hamilton                         Lena Rice

1891 Wilfred Baddeley                         Lottie Dod

1892 Wilfred Baddeley                         Lottie Dod

1893 Joshua Pim                                 Lottie Dod

1894 Joshua Pim                           Blanche Bingley Hillyard

1895 Wilfred Baddeley                  Charlotte Cooper Sterry

1896 Harold Mahoney                           Charlotte Cooper Sterry

1897 Reginald Doherty                   Blanche Bingley Hillyard

1898 Reginald Doherty                    Charlotte Cooper Sterry

1899 Reginald Doherty                    Blanche Bingley Hillyard

1900 Reginald Doherty                   Blanche Bingley Hillyard

1901 Arthur Gore                           Charlotte Cooper Sterry

1902 Lawrence Doherty                       Muriel Robb

1903 Lawrence Doherty                 Dorothea Lambert Chambers

1904 Lawrence Doherty                  Dorothea Lambert Chambers

1905 Lawrence Doherty                        May Sutton

1906 Lawrence Doherty                  Dorothea Lambert Chambers

1907 Norman Brookes                              May Sutton

1908 Arthur Gore                         Charlotte Cooper-Sterry

1909 Arthur Gore                             Dora Boothby

1910 Anthony Wilding                          Dorothea Lambert Chambers

1911 Anthony Wilding                         Dorothea Lambert Chambers

1912 Anthony Wilding                         Ethel Thomson Larcombe

1913 Anthony Wilding                       Dorothea Lambert Chambers

1914 Norman Brookes                        Dorothea Lambert Chambers

1915-18 Cancelled Due to World War I

1919 Gerald Patterson                    Suzanne Lenglen

1920 Bill Tilden                            Suzanne Lenglen

1921 Bill Tilden                            Suzanne Lenglen

1922 Gerald Patterson                    Suzanne Lenglen

1923 Bill Johnston                            Suzanne Lenglen

1924 Jean Borotra                            Kitty McKane Godfree

1925 René Lacoste                            Suzanne Lenglen

1926 Jean Borotra                            Kitty McKane Godfree

1927 Henri Cochet                            Helen Wills Moody

1928 René Lacoste                            Helen Wills Moody

1929 Henri Cochet(2)                            Helen Wills Moody

1930 Bill Tilden                           Helen Wills Moody

1931 Sidney Wood                            Cilly Aussem

1932 Ellsworth Vines                          Helen Wills Moody

1933 Jack Crawford                           Helen Wills Moody

1934 Fred Perry                          Dorothy Round Little

1935 Fred Perry                         Helen Wills Moody

1936 Fred Perry                           Helen Jacobs

1937 Don Budge                       Dorothy Round Little

1938 Don Budge                         Helen Wills Moody

1939 Bobby Riggs                          Alice Marble

1940-45 Cancelled Due to World War II

1946 Yvon Petra                         Pauline Betz Addie

1947 Jack Kramer                       Margaret Osborne duPont

1948 Bob Falkenburg                       Louise Brough Clapp

1949 Ted Schroeder                       Louise Brough Clapp

1950 Budge Patty                       Louise Brough Clapp

1951 Dick Savitt                         Doris Hart

1952 Frank Sedgman                      Maureen Connolly Brinker

1953 Vic Seixas                     Maureen Connolly Brinker

1954 Jaroslav Drobný                     Maureen Connolly Brinker

1955 Tony Trabert                     Louise Brough Clapp

1956 Lew Hoad                     Shirley Fry Irvin

1957 Lew Hoad                       Althea Gibson

1958 Ashley Cooper                       Althea Gibson

1959 Alex Olmedo                        Maria Bueno

1960 Neale Fraser                        Maria Bueno

1961 Rod Laver                   Angela Mortimer Barrett

1962 Rod Laver                    Karen Hantze Susman

1963 Chuck McKinley                   Margaret Smith Court

1964 Roy Emerson                      Maria Bueno

1965 Roy Emerson                    Margaret Smith Court

1966 Manolo Santana                    Billie Jean King

1967 John Newcombe                   Billie Jean King

1968 Rod Laver                   Billie Jean King

1969 Rod Laver                  Ann Haydon Jones

1970 John Newcombe                 Margaret Smith Court

1971 John Newcombe                Evonne Goolagong Cawley

1972 Stan Smith                 Billie Jean King

1973 Jan Kodeš                 Billie Jean King

1974 Jimmy Connors                 Chris Evert

1975 Arthur Ashe                 Billie Jean King

1976 Björn Borg                 Chris Evert

1977 Björn Borg                 Virginia Wade

1978 Björn Borg                 Martina Navrátilová

1979 Björn Borg                 Martina Navrátilová

1980 Björn Borg                 Evonne Goolagong Cawley

1981 John McEnroe                 Chris Evert

1982 Jimmy Connors                 Martina Navrátilová

1983 John McEnroe                  Martina Navrátilová

1984 John McEnroe                 Martina Navrátilová

1985 Boris Becker                Martina Navrátilová

1986 Boris Becker                Martina Navrátilová

1987 Pat Cash                Martina Navrátilová

1988 Stefan Edberg                Steffi Graf

1989 Boris Becker                Steffi Graf

1990 Stefan Edberg               Martina Navrátilová

1991 Michael Stich               Steffi Graf

1992 Andre Agassi                 Steffi Graf

1993 Pete Sampras                 Steffi Graf

1994 Pete Sampras               Conchita Martínez

1995 Pete Sampras               Steffi Graf

1996 Richard Krajicek       Steffi Graf

1997 Pete Sampras               Martina Hingis

1998 Pete Sampras               Jana Novotná

1999 Pete Sampras               Lindsay Davenport

2000 Pete Sampras               Venus Williams

2001 Goran Ivaniševic       Venus Williams

2002 Lleyton Hewitt               Serena Williams

2003 Roger Federer               Serena Williams

2004 Roger Federer               Maria Sharapova

2005 Roger Federer               Venus Williams

2006 Roger Federer               Amélie Mauresmo

2007 Roger Federer               Venus Williams

2008 Rafael Nadal               Venus Williams

2009 Roger Federer               Serena Williams

2010 Rafael Nadal               Serena Williams

2011 Novak Djokovic               Petra Kvitová

2012 Roger Federer              Serena Williams

2013 Andy Murray (UK)              Marion Bartoli

2014 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)       Petra Kvitová

2015 Novak Djokovic (Serbia)      Serena Williams

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 23 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment