GK/General Awareness/G-Studies,

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

Gandhi Peace Prize

The International Gandhi Peace Prize, named after Mahatma Gandhi, is awarded annually by the Government of India.

This is an annual award given to individuals and institutions for their contributions towards social, economic and political transformation through non-violence and other Gandhian methods.

 The award carries Rs 1 Crore (10 million) in cash, convertible in any currency in the world, a plaque and a citation.

A jury consisting of the Prime Minister of India, the Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha, the Chief Justice of India and two other eminent persons decides the awardee each year.

The award was instituted in the year 1995

List of winners

Indian Space Research Organisation                                 2014

Chandi Prasad Bhatt                                                          2013

Desmond Tutu                                                                   2005

Coretta Scott King                                                             2004

Václav Havel                                                                     2003

Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan Educational Trust                      2002

John Hume                                                                        2001

Muhammad Yunus                                                            2000

Grameen Bank                                                                  2000

Nelson Mandela                                                                2000

Baba Amte                                                                        1999

Ramakrishna Mission                                                       1998

Gerhard Fischer                                                                1997

A. T. Ariyaratne                                                               1996

Julius Nyerere                                                                  1995

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 20 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment