Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


The North Atlantic Treaty Organization (NATO), also called the North Atlantic Alliance, is an intergovernmental military alliance based on the North Atlantic Treaty which was signed in Washington, D.C., USA on 4 April 1949.

NATO’s headquarters are located in Haren, Brussels, Belgium.

The Treaty of Brussels, signed on 17 March 1948 by Belgium, the Netherlands, Luxembourg, France, and the United Kingdom, is considered the precursor to the NATO agreement.

The first NATO Secretary General, Lord Ismay, stated in 1949 that the organization’s goal was “to keep the Russians out, the Americans in, and the Germans down.

NATO has two official languages, English and French, defined in Article 14 of the North Atlantic Treaty.

Motto of NATO – ‘Anything that flies on anything that moves’

Membership- 28 member states

1 Albania

2 Bulgaria



5- Canada

6- Czech Republic

7- Denmark

8- Estonia

9 -France

10 -Greece

11 -Germany

12- Hungary

13- Iceland

14 -Italy

15- Latvia


17 -Lithuania

18- Norway

19- Netherlands

20 – Portugal


22- Romania

23- Slovakias

24- Slovenia

25- Spain

26- Turkey

27- United States of America

28- United Kingdom

Related posts:

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 25 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment