History -Andhra Pradesh & Telangana -Important Points

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

History -Andhra Pradesh & Telangana


1-The Vishalandhra, Vishal Andhra or Visalandhra Movement was a movement in post-independence India for a united state for all Telugu speakers, a Greater Andhra 

2-This movement was led by the Communist Party of India under the banner of Andhra Mahasabha with a demand to merge all the Telugu-speaking areas into one state.

3-The movement succeeded and a separate state of Andhra Pradesh was formed by merging Telugu-speaking areas of Hyderabad State (Telangana) with Andhra State on 1 November 1956 as part of the States Reorganisation Act.

4-Andhra State had been previously carved out of Madras State on 1 October 1953.

5- On 2 June 2014, Telangana State was separated back out of Andhra Pradesh and the Vishalandhra experiment came to an end. 

6-The residual Andhra Pradesh now has approximately the same borders as the old Andhra State of 1956.

7-A States Reorganisation Commission was constituted by the Central Government of India in 1953 to recommend the reorganization of state boundaries.

8-An agreement was reached between Telangana leaders and Andhra leaders on 20 February 1956 to merge Telangana and Andhra with promises to safeguard Telangana’s interests.

9-Following the Gentlemen’s agreement, the central government established a unified Andhra Pradesh on 1 November 1956

10- In early 2014, the Andhra Pradesh Reorganisation Act, 2014, was approved by the Indian parliament, and Telangana became India’s 29th state on 2 June 2014.

11-Samaikya Andhra Movement (United Andhra Movement) is supported by government employees, advocates in Coastal Andhra & Rayalaseema regions along with students from 14 universities, various occupational, caste & religious groups of Coastal Andhra & Rayalaseema regions.

12- After the Congress Working Committee decision to divide the state came to an end,President of India gave nod to Telangana Bill which would make the latter to come into existence from June 2, 2014.

13-The movement took shape on 9 December 2009, when as a result of an 11-day fast by Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) president K Chandrashekar Rao (KCR), Union Home Minister P. Chidambaram announced that the Indian government would start the process of forming a separate Telangana state.

14- Y. S. Rajasekhara Reddy (YSR)’s brother and Member of Legislative Council (MLC) Y. S. Vivekananda Reddy fasted in support of united Andhra accompanied by his wife and followers who sat on a relay hunger strike.

15-At Sri Venkateswara University, actor Mohan Babu sat on a day-long fast in the campus expressing solidarity with the students who were already on a hunger strike.

16-On 3 February 2010, the government announced a five-member committee headed by former Supreme Court judge Justice Srikrishna to look into the issue.

17- It also announced Terms of Reference to the Srikrishna Committee, with a deadline of 31 December 2010 to submit its report.

18-The five member committee headed by Justice B.N. Srikrishna toured all the regions of state extensively and invited people from all sections of the society to give their opinion on the statehood.

19-On November 1, the formation day of the state of Andhra Pradesh, Samaikyandhra protagonists in Vijayawada reiterated their commitment to keep the State united by paying floral tributes to Potti Sriramulu, whose life sacrifice led to formation of Andhra state in 1953 and later Andhra Pradesh in 1956.

20-Union Tourism Minister Chiranjeevi, whose previous party Praja Rajyam supported the united state stand before its merger with Congress, reiterated that personally he was still in favour of the untied state but will abide by whatever the Congress high command decides

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 109 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment