History -India Freedom Struggle

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


History -India Freedom Struggle


1-In 1866 Dadabhai Naoroji organised the first India Political Association.

2-Under the leadership of Indian National Congress, the fight for freedom went on from 1885-1947

3-Indian National Congress was established in 1885 December in Mumbai .W C Banerjee was its first President.

4-Among the moderate leaders Gopala Krishna Gokhale ,Dadabhai Naoroji, Feroz Shah Mehta and W C Banerjee were prominent.

5-Among the extremists, Bal Gangadhar Tilak, Bipin Chandra Pal and Lala Lajpat Rai were prominent.

6-Partition of Bengal by Lord Curzon in 1905 led to Vande Mataram movement.

7-The first World War was started in 1914.

8-Dr Annai Besant started the Home Rule League in 1906.

9-To satisfy the Indians, the British government passed an act in 1919 called Montengral Chemsfords reforms.

10-To suppress the agitations of Indians against the 1919 Act, the British passed the Rowlatt Act.

11-In 1920 Gandhi started the non-coperation movement in non-violence way.

12-In the Jalian Wala Bagh tragedy many Indians were killed. General O Dyer was responsible for this brutal killing.

13-With Chouri Choura incident in Uttar Pradesh, Mahatma Gandhi called off the non -coperation movement.

14-In review the working of 1919 Act, the British Parliament appointed Simon Commission. Simon Commission visited India in 1927-1928.

15-The Simon Commission was boycotted as it had no Indian member.

16-In 1930 Mahatma Gandhi started Civil Disobedience Movement or Salt Satyagraha.

17-Three Round Table Conferences took place between 1930-1932.

18-In 1931 Gandhiji and Irwin pact was signed.

19-In 1942 Sir Stafford Cripps came to India to consult the Indians.

20-In 1942 Gandhiji launched Quit India Movement.

21-Do or Die slogan was given by Gandhiji during Quit India Movement.

22-The Muslim League was founded in 1906 and it declared Pakistan as the first goal.

23-Azad Hind fauz was organised by Subhas Chandra Bose during second World War.

24-In 1946 cabinet mission visited India to work out the modalities of transfer power to Indians.

25-Lord Mountbatten was appointed as the Governor General .He was the Viceroy also.

26-Muslim League insisted on a separate country for Muslims.

27-Indian Sub continent was divided into Pakistan and India in 1947.

28-India got freedom on 15th August 1947.

29-In 1948, Gandhi was assassinated.

30-In 26th January 1950 India became Republic.

31-Sardar Patel integrated Native states into India union except Kashmir,Hyderabad and Junagadh.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 71 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment