Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


President of India -Important Points

1- President of Indian Republic from 1950 to 1952 –  Dr. Rajendra Prasad

2-The only president who occupied office of president for two times-  Dr. Rajendra Prasad

3- The only two presidents who died in office were Zakir Hussain (1969) & Fakarauddin Ali Ahmed (1977)

                                                                      Zakir Hussain

                                                            Fakarauddin Ali Ahmed

4- Chief justice of India works as President, if the posts of President and vice-president lie vacant. In 1969 when Chief justice M Hidayutalla was appointed as president of India

5- Neelam Sanjeev Reddy was the only candidate elected unopposed.

                                                           Neelam Sanjeev Reddy

6-President submits his resignation to Vice President and vice versa.

7- President of India enjoys complete immunity from criminal proceedings during his tenure. However civil proceedings may be initiated against him by giving prior notice.

8-The first women president of India is Pratibha Devisingh Patil .

Presidents of India (1947-2015)

S.no   Name                      Period                     Political party

1-   Rajendra Prasad       26-Jan-1950 to 13-May-1962       Indian National Congress

2-Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13-May-1962 to 13-May-1967         Independent

3-Zakir Hussain            13-May-1967 to 3-May-1969          Independent

4-Varahagiri Venkata Giri  3-May-1969 to 20-Jul-1969          Independent

5-Muhammad Hidayatullah    20-Jul-1969 to 24-Aug-1969         Independent

6-Varahagiri Venkata Giri  24-Aug-1969 to 24-Aug-1974        Independent

7-Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed     24-Aug-1974 to 11-Feb-1977        Indian National Congress

8-Basappa Danappa Jatti    11-Feb-1977 to 25-Jul-1977        Independent

9-Neelam Sanjiva Reddy     25-Jul-1977 to 25-Jul-1982       Janata Party

10-Giani Zail Singh         25-Jul-1982 to 25-Jul-1987      Indian National Congress

11-Ramaswamy Venkataraman  25-Jul-1987 to 25-Jul-1992       Indian National Congress

12-Shankar Dayal Sharma    25-Jul-1992 to 25-Jul-1997        Indian National Congress

13-Kocheril Raman Narayanan  25-Jul-1997 to 25-Jul-2002     Independent

14-A. P. J. Abdul Kalam      25-Jul-2002 to 25-Jul-2007    Independent

15-Pratibha Patil          25-Jul-2007 to 25-Jul-2012    Indian National Congress

16-Pranab Mukherjee         25-Jul-2012 to Till now      Indian National Congress

(Visited 49 times, 1 visits today)
Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: