Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


1-The Gupta Emperor Chandragupta II was succeeded by Kumargupta I in 415 AD. He adopted the title of Mahendraditya.

 His rule is known for peace and prosperity. He ruled till 455 AD.

2-Chandragupta II defeated the Saka king Rudrasimha III and annexed his kingdom and assumed the title Vikramaditya. This brought an end to Saka-Kshatrapa rule in western India and added the regions of Gujarat, Kathiawad and west Malwa to the Gupta empire.

3-Chandragupta II Vikramaditya made Ujjain as second capital of his empire.

4-The Gupta emperor Chandragupta I married a Lichchavi princess Kumara Devi, who was the heiress to the throne of the Lichchavis

Lichchhavi Princess Kumari Devi was the first Indian Queen featured on a coin.

5-The Sakas introduced Satrap system of government along with Parthians that was similar to that of the Achaemenid and Seleucid systems in Iran.

6-The great scholars in the Court of Kanishka I were Asvaghosa (the Buddhist poet), Nagarjuna (the philosopher), Samgharaksha (the chaplain), Mathara (the politician), Vasumitra (the Buddhist scholar), Charaka (the physician) and Agisala (the engineer).

7-The Saka ruler, Rudradraman was responsible for important irrigation works in Saurashtra. His military achievements, his territories and his many personal qualities are highlighted in the famous Junagadh inscription, written in 150 AD. It is the first major inscription to be written in sanskrit.

8-The sakas were finally overthrown by Gautamiputra Satakarni, the ruler of Satavahana dynasty. He killed Saka ruler Nahapana and his governor Rishavadatta and restored his territories.

9-Charak was the court physician of Kanishka I.He is sometimes referred to as the Father of Indian Medicine.

                                                           Charak Monument

10-Kushana emperor Kanishka is credited with the initiation of the Saka era on his accession to the throne in 78 A D.

11-The famous ruler of Kushana Empire, Vima Kadphises is best known for issuing large number of Gold Coins. He is known to have maintained the Silk Route and trade with all sides including the China, Alexandria and Roman Empire.

12-Jabala Upanishad In Jabala Upanishad, there is a clear reference of four Ashrams i.e. Brahmachari, Grihastha, Vanaprastha and Sanyasi.

13-Chhanda Vedanga is related to metrics.There are six vedangas (limbs of Vedas) evolved for the proper understanding of the Vedas. These are Siksha (phonetics), Kalpa (rituals), Vyakarna (grammar), Nirukta (etymology), Chhanda (metrics) and Jyotisha (astronomy)

14-Manu Smriti (Pre-Gupta period) is the oldest Smriti.

15-In the Puranas, the Mauryan Emperor Ashoka is referred as Ashokavardhana. However, in the Rudradaman’s Junagarh rock edict, the Mauryan Emperor Ashoka is mentioned as Asoka Maurya.

16-As per the Arthashastra of Chanakya, Paura was the Governor of the city.

17-As per the officials mentioned in the Arthashastra, Pattanadhyaksha was the superintendent of Ports.

18-Mudradhyaksha was responsible for the issue of passports in the Mauryan period.

19-As per the Arthashastra of Chankya, there were two important officers in the Central Administration. These are Sannidhata (the Chief treasury officer) and Samaharta (the Chief Collector General of Revenue).


20-The Third Buddhist Council was held at Patliputra during the reign of Emperor Ashoka. It was held under the Presidentship of Moggliputra Tissa to revise scriptures.

21-The holy places where the four principal events of the Buddha’s life took place are Lumbini (birth), Bodh Gaya (Enlightenment), Sarnath (First Sermon), Kusinagar (Death took place). Apart from these four places, there are another four holy places viz. Sravasti, Rajgriha, Vaishali and Vajrayana, these eight holy places are known as Ashtamahasthanas.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 99 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment