History One-Liners for various competitive examinations

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share


History One-Liners for various competitive examinations


Thank You for landing the History section page.

Maximum questions come from History portion in different competitive exams.

Here are some important History one-liners for students competing for various exams


Watch some of the important History Bits below.

1- ‘Veda’ word has been originated from the root ‘vidi’, i.e. to know, signifying knowledge.

2- Veda is also known as Shruti (to hear).

3- Rigveda, Samaveda, Yajurveda, and Atharvaveda are the four Vedas.

4-The Rigveda is also known as ‘the first testament to mankind’. It is the oldest one.

Rig Veda
Rig Veda

5-Four varnas (Brahmana, Kshatriya, Vaishya, and Shudra) born from the mouth, arms, thighs, and feet of the creator.

6-Rigveda has 10 Mandalas, 1028 Suktas, and 10,580 Richas.

7- Rigveda has 1017 hymns (Sukta) and is divided into ten mandalas

8-Yajurveda is a ritual Veda and has two main texts namely Krishna Yajurveda and Shukla Yajurveda.

9-Yajurveda has 40 chapters and 2000 hymns

10-Yajurveda is also called the book of sacrificial prayers.

11-Krishna Yajurveda contains mantras (hymns) and the Shukla Yajurveda has commentary in prose.

12-Yajurveda is a collection of hymns composed in both prose and poetry.

13-The Samaveda has 1549 Shlokas (richas). It is a collection of melodies.

14-Samaveda has two parts namely Purvarchika (having six subdivisions called ‘Apathaka) and Uttrarchika (having nine subdivisions called ‘Prapathaka).

15-Atharvaveda describes the popular beliefs and superstitions of the humble folk.

16-Shaunk and Pippalad are the two available branches of Atharvaveda.

17-The Atharvaveda is a book of magical formulae and is also known as Brahmaveda or Atharvagirasveda.

18- Apar, Purva, Saraswat, and Sharyajavat are the names of four oceans that are found in the Rigveda.

19-In Rigveda there is a mention of 40 rivers and the Saraswati river that is called the mother of rivers

20-The Samaveda has three Brahmanas i.e. Tandayamaha Brahman, Khadvisha Brahmana, and Jaiminiya Brahman.

21-The word aranyak means the forest 


Watch more History here


Watch Current Affairs section for here 

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 103 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment