History -Important Points For Exams

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share



1-The President is the constitutional head of the state.

2-The Prime Minister is the head of the Executive.

3- The Prime Minister is the leader of the party that has a majority in the Lok Sabha.

4-The National Planning Commission was established on 15 March 1950 with the Prime Minister Nehru as its chairperson.

5- In 1953, Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru appointed the States Reorganization Commission with Justice Fazal Ali as its chairman and Pandit Hridayanath Kunzru and Sardar K.M. Panikkar as its members

6-In June 1991 P. V. Narasimha Rao became Prime Minister. Dr. Manmohan Singh served as Finance Minister under P.V. Narasimha Rao.

7-The Reactor Research Centre set up at Kalpakkam, India, 80 km south of Chennai in 1971 under the Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) was renamed Indira Gandhi Center for Atomic Research (IGCAR) in 1985.

8-The ISRO Satellite Centre, Bangalore is the satellite technology base of the Indian space programme.

9- The Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre at Trivandrum, the largest of the ISRO centres, is primarily responsible for indigenous launch vehicle technology.

10- Indira Gandhi, daughter of Nehru became Prime Minister in 1966.When opposition to her rule gathered momentum in 1975, she brought emergency rule, a black mark in the democratic tradition of India. However, she restored democratic rule by announcing general elections in 1977 in which she was defeated.

11- V.P. Singh was the Prime Minister between 1989 and 1991. He was leading an anti-Congress coalition called the Janata Dal.

 He decided to implement the Mandal Commission Report which provided reservation for other backward classes. He was forced to resign in 1990.

12- The next Prime Minister Chandrasekhar held the office from November 1990 to March 1991.

13-The Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) was set up 1954 as executive agency for implementing the atomic energy programmes. 

14-In 1956, India’s first nuclear reactor in Trombay near Bombay (first in Asia also) began to function.

15-The Bhaba Atomic Research Centre is situated at Trombay.

16-Rajiv Gandhi became the Prime Minister of India in 1984 after her mother Indira Gandhi’s assassination. 

17- Rajiv Gandhi introduced New Education Policy and encouraged foreign investment.

18- In 1987 Rajiv Gandhi sent the Indian Peace Keeping Force to Sri Lanka with a view to put an end to the ethnic violence. 

19- Rajiv Gandhi continued as Prime Minister till the next elections held in 1989. Later in May 1991, he was assassinated (by the Sri Lankan Tamil extremists).

20- In 1948, the first Linguistic Provinces Commission headed by S.K. Dar was appointed by the Constituent Assembly to enquire into the possibility of linguistic provinces.

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 40 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment