Indian History MCQ- Multiple Choice Questions For Various Competitive Exams

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share

Indian History MCQ- Multiple Choice Questions For Various Competitive Exams

Indian History MCQ
Indian History MCQ

Indian History MCQ comprises of multiple questions and answers types.

These questions have been collected from the ancient, medieval and modern history.

Students trying to appear in many exams can check their knowledge while going thorough the multiple choice questions.

Indian History plays a key role for various competitive exams like IAS, State Public Service Commission, SSC and other similar competitive exams.

Herewith presenting a various set of Indian History Questions answers in the form of mcqs(Multiple Choice Questions)

1- Who was the first governor general of India?

a) Sir Charles Metcalfe.

b) Lord Amherst.

c) Lord William Bentinck.

d) Robert Clive.

2- When Goa was captured by Portuguese?

a) 1510 AD.

b) 1600 AD.

c) 1575 AD.

d) 1478 AD.

3- In which place British opened their first factories in Eastern part of India?

a) Odisha.

b) Bihar.

c) Assam.

d) Manipur.

4- Who was the first governor general of Bengal?

a) Warren Hastings.

b) Wellesley.

c) Robert Clive.

d) Lord William Bentinck.

5- Who declared Sati as illegal and punishable?

a) Lord Dalhousie.

b) Lord Canning.

c) Lord Ripon.

d) Lord William Bentinck.

6- Which among the following is the first English Newspaper in India?

a) The Calcutta Gazette.

b) The Bengal Journal.

c) The Bombay Herald.

d) The Bengal Gazette.

7- Who among the following first translated Bhagvad Gita to English?

a) Alexander Cunningham.

b) Charles Wilkins.

c) John Marshall.

d) William Johns.

8- Who among the following introduced English as an official language?

a) Lord William Bentinck.

b) Lord Canning.

c) Lord Ripon.

d) Sir Charles Wood.

9- Name the first Indian leader who underwent imprisonment?

a) Bipin Chandra Pal.

b) Dadabhai Naoroji

c) C Vijaraghavachari.

d) Bal Gangadhar Tilak.

10- National demand – Swaraj was first spread by whom?

a) Mahatma Gandhi

b) Annie Besant

c) Subhas Chandra Bose

d) Dadabhai Naoroji.

Indian History MCQ

11- Which was the first movement against the British in India?

a) Quit India movement

b) Khilafat Movement

c) Swadeshi Movement

d) Non-Cooperative movement

12-The song Vande Mataram was first sung at the 12th session of the Indian National Congress. Who was the president of Indian National Congress then?

a) Rahimtulla M Sayani

b) Pandit Bishan Narayan Dar.

c) Rahsbehari Ghosh.

d) Badruddin Tyabji.

13- Who returned the Knighthood to protest against the atrocities of the Jaliwanwala Bagh Massacre?

a) Jawaharlal Nehru.

b) Bipin Chandra Pal.

c) Rabindranath Tagore.

d) Arabinda Ghosh.

14- Who founded the first women university in India?

a) D.K Karve.

b) Sucheta Kripalini.

c) J.P Kripalini

d) Sarojini Naidu.

15- Who wrote the book ‘poverty and un-British rule in India’?

a) D.R. Gadgil.

b) R.C. Dutta.

c) P.C. Mahalnobis.

d) Dadabhai Naoroji.

Indian History MCQ

16- In which place Moplah revolt took place?

a) Uttar Pradesh.

b) Bihar.

c) Bengal.

d) Kerala.

17- Who wrote the book ‘Tuzuk-i- jahangiri’?

a) Mulla Daud

b) Akbar.

c) Sharjahan.

d) Jahangir.

18- By whom the organization ‘servants of Indian society’ was founded?

a) Dayanand Saraswathi.

b) Gopal Krishna Gokhle.

c) Mahatma Gandhi.

d) Dr. B.R. Ambedkar.

19- The name of capital of Anga (a mahajapada) was?

a) Kaushambi.

b) Viratnagar.

c) Varanasi.

d) Champa.

20- The Ryotwari System in India was introduced by whom?

a) John shore.

b) )Lord Cornwallis.

c) Munro and Charles Reed.

d) Lord Hastings.

21- The Rigvedic name of river Ravi is?

a) Vipas.

b) Vitasta.

c) Kubha.

d) Parushni.

22- Who among the following is known as ‘beacon of light of Asia’?

a) Mahatma Gandhi.

b) Abdul Gaffer khan.

c) Subhash Chandra Bose.

d) Gautam Buddha.

23- By whom the Indian Independence League was set up?

a) Rasbihari Bose.

b) S.M Yoshi.

c) Jawaharlal Nehru.

d) Subhas Chandra Bose.

24- Who presided the Lahore Session of Indian National Congress in 1909?

a) Madan Mohan Malaviya

b) Rashbihari Ghosh.

c) Dadabhai Naoroji.

d) Bishan Narayan Dar.

25- Under whose presidency, the first session of the Indian National Congress was held?

a) JB Kriplani.

b) WC Bannerjee.

c) Badruddin Tyabji.

d) AO Hume.

Indian History MCQ

History plays a key role for various competitive exams


1- Lord William Bentinck.

2- 1510 AD.

3- Odisha.

4- Warren Hastings.

5- Lord William Bentinck.

6- The Bengal Gazette.

7- Charles Wilkins.

8- Sir Charles Wood.

9- C Vijaraghavachari.

10- Dadabhai Naoroji.

11- Swadeshi Movement.

12- Rahimtulla M Sayani.

13- Rabindranath Tagore.

14- D.K Karve.

15- Dadabhai Naoroji.

16- Kerala.

17- Jahangir.

18- Gopal Krishna Gokhle.

19- Champa.

20- Munro and Charles Reed.

21- Parushni.

22- Subhash Chandra Bose.

23- Rasbihari Bose.

24- Madan Mohan Malaviya.

25- WC Bannerjee.

Watch another post on History here

Watch Current Affairs section for here 

Please follow and like us:
Pin Share
(Visited 126 times, 1 visits today)